Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

How do I clear my old data?

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

Manage and or clear historical data in Sage 50 Canadian Edition.

Resolution

CAUTION: Use caution when working with the below product functionality. Always create a backup of your data before proceeding with advanced solutions. If necessary, seek the assistance of a qualified Sage business partner, network administrator, or Sage customer support analyst.

Note: Additional Disclaimer: Once data is cleared, it is no longer available for lookup and cannot be brought back. Make a backup before clearing any data.

Type of information that can be cleared:

  • Paid vendor and customer transactions - Removes transaction information used in the Vendor Aged and Customer Aged reports
  • Account reconciliation - Removes information used in the Account Reconciliation reports
  • Deposit slips - Removes transaction information used in the Deposit Slip report. Once cleared, you cannot look up or adjust these transactions
  • Import online statements - Removes information used in the Import Online Statements report
  • Inventory tracking - Removes information used in the Inventory Transactions and Inventory Sales reports. Once cleared, the company's purchase and sales information is also cleared. You cannot look up or adjust these transactions
  • Purchase and sales invoices - Once cleared, you cannot look up or adjust these transactions
  • Remittance payments - Removes Payment column information in the Remittances report. Once cleared, you cannot look up or adjust these transactions
  • Employee Direct deposits - Removes information in the Upload Direct Deposit window
  • Notes - Removes notes in the Daily Business Manager
  • Paycheque details - Removes information in Payroll and Cheque Log reports. This data is always cleared, at the age you specify. This data will be stored for a maximum of 6 years
  • Financial history - Removes the financial history information in Financial Statement and General Journal Entries reports. This data is always cleared, at the age you specify. this data will be stored for a maximum of 7 years ( Sage 50 Pro Accounting) or 100 years (Sage 50 Premium Accounting or up)
  • Sales taxes - Removes information in Tax report

STEP 1: Create a backup before clearing any data.

STEP 2: There are two ways to clear old data:

Method 1: Clearing Data Manually

  1. Click Maintenance from the menu bar in the Home windows.
  2. Click Clear Data.
  3. Choose the type of data you want to clear.
  4. When clearing data manually, select As of data or date range for which you want to clear.

Image

Method 2: Clearing Data automatically

Note: You can set up Sage 50 Accounting to clear data automatically at fiscal year-end.

  1. Click Maintenance from the menu bar in the Home windows.
  2. Click Clear Data.
  3. Click Automatically Clear Data
  4. Select the type of data you want to automatically clear and specify the age.

How do I create a backup?
How to purge payroll data manually