Follow a six-step process to close a fiscal year-end.
Check the fiscal years
Click Edit, General Ledger, Details, and then select the Balances tab.
Review the three fiscal year columns:
Last Year
This Year
Next Year
Verify that you’ve completed all transactions for Last Year.
Remember that Sage BusinessVision moves Last Year to history after year-end. You can't post to that year afterward.
After year-end:
This Year becomes Last Year
Next Year becomes This Year
Sage BusinessVision opens a new Next Year
Check Account Reconciliation
Click Utilities, and then Account Reconciliation.
Open each bank reconciliation.
Review the outstanding transactions.
Reconcile any transactions dated in the Last Year.
If you can't reconcile them, void and repost them in This Year.
CAUTION:
If you don't void and repost these transactions, the process will move these transactions to history and you can't reconcile them anymore. Account Reconciliation will show a G/L variance after the year-end process.
Print reports before year-end
Print at least the following reports:
Trial Balance for the year
Balance Sheet for the year
Detailed transaction listings for all accounts and periods
Summary and detailed A/R aging reports
Summary and detailed A/P aging reports
Any other reports you need for reference
Verify Current Earnings and Retained Earnings
Verify that all users have logged out of the company.
Click Utilities, System Manager, and Special Accounts.
Verify that Current Earnings (CE) and Retained Earnings (RE) are correct.
Verify that CE and RE use different accounts.
If Current Earnings and Retained Earnings use the same account:
Enter a general ledger journal entry to transfer CE to RE manually after the year-end process
If Current Earnings and Retained Earnings use different accounts:
The program transfers CE to RE automatically during the year-end process
Verify that you have a complete backup of the data folder.
CAUTION:
You can't reverse the fiscal year-end if there isn't a valid backup.
Run fiscal year-end
Click Utilities, and then Year-End.
Click Yes when prompted with Are all users signed off the network?
Click Continue in the Year-End Close window.
CAUTION:
If the title bar displays Not Responding, don't stop the process. Sage BusinessVision continues processing in the background and will eventually finish.
If you stop the year-end process, restore the backup and run fiscal year-end again.