Understanding roles for user management
Description
Cause
Resolution

Roles are sets of pre-defined security settings that you assign when adding users.

This topic will explain the roles included with Client Management and how to use them.

Understanding the roles

Client Management comes with 6 security roles; 4 pertain to data rights - what users have access to and what they can do with the data. 2 of the roles are specialty roles.

Data roles

Most businesses will use these four the most:

Role name Access level Description Typical user
Administrator Highest

Users assigned this role can:

  • Add, edit, delete, and import prospects and clients.

  • Change or transfer existing subscriptions and purchase new subscriptions for clients and the business.

  • Add, edit, and delete client data in Sage Accounting if subscribed.

  • Add, edit, and delete users.

  • Add, edit, and delete comments.

Anyone who needs unrestricted access to client data and related functions and to be able to manage users.

By default, the practice (or business) owner is assigned this role, though they may not be responsible for daily operations. A practice (or office) manager may require this role to complete daily administrative tasks.

Standard High-Medium

Users assigned this role can:

  • Add, edit, and delete prospects and clients.

  • Change or transfer existing subscriptions and purchase new subscriptions for clients and the business.

  • Add, edit, and delete client data in Sage Accounting if subscribed.

  • Add, edit, and delete comments.

Anyone who needs unrestricted access to client data but does not need to manage users. This role may be appropriate for client managers, staff accountants, or personal tax experts.
Basic Medium-Low

Users assigned this role can:

  • View prospects and clients.

  • View and launch all subscribed products for clients and the business.

Anyone who needs to view (but not change) client data in Client Management. For example, bookkeepers, data entry clerks, or trainees.

While they cannot change client data in Client Management, users assigned this role can access and change client data in Sage Accounting if subscribed.

Read Only Lowest

Users assigned this role can only view clients.

Anyone who needs only to view client data.

Speciality roles

Role name Description Typical user
User administrator

Users assigned this role:

  • Add, edit, and delete users.

  • Cannot access or manage clients.

Network administrator, IT professional
Subscription manager

Users assigned this role:

  • Have this in addition to their assigned role of Administrator, Standard, Basic, or Read Only.

  • Change existing subscriptions or purchase subscriptions for all businesses associated with their Sage account.

  • Change or purchase all subscriptions for clients.

Anyone who you want to be able to manage subscriptions for all of your businesses.

 

Steps to duplicate
Related Solutions